Welcome to the Mississippi Society of Health-System Pharmacists!

Congratulations to the following MSHP 2020 awards recipients!

Health System Pharmacist of the Year
Jameika Stuckey

Pharmacy Technician of the Year
Brian Hairston

Outstanding Young Health-System Pharmacist of the Year
Emily Tschumper

Industry Representative of the Year
Kevin Blanton (Morris & Dickson)

Innovative Health Systems Pharmacy Practice Award
Baptist Memorial Hospital - North Mississippi (Care Transitions Service)

MSHP Service Award
Scott Malinowski

Bruce Parks Memorial Student Award
Jonathan Newbaker


ASHP COVID-19 Resource Page

Follow this link for helpful COVID-19 resources and information from ASHP:

Member Area Login

Are you a member of the Mississippi Society of Health-System Pharmacists? Login here for full access.
Not a member yet? Click here to join.

President's Report

Dear MSHP Members,

Thank you for allowing me to serve as president for the 2019-2020 term.  I am both honored and excited to lead this outstanding organization.  First, I would like to acknowledge the hard work of our board members who graciously volunteer their time to make MSHP a great organization.  I would also like to recognize immediate past-president Anastasia Jenkins who did an outstanding job last year and look forward to her continued support during this upcoming year.

Recently, the newly appointed board of directors met to develop a strategic plan for this upcoming year.  Two themes that resonated throughout our discussion were engagement and the advancement of pharmacy within our state. We intend to boost member engagement by enhancing communication with our members through social media outreach, engaging our pharmacy leaders with regular leadership meetings, and sponsoring networking and educational opportunities through district events.  To promote and advance our profession in Mississippi, we will strive to strengthen our legislative efforts, provide outreach to our communities regarding the vital role of the health-system pharmacist, and work with other state organizations and entities to increase pharmacist access throughout our state.  The Board also set forth goals for this year to include increasing pharmacist and technician membership by over 10% as well as increasing our political action committee (PAC) funding.

I am humbled by the great leaders who have served MSHP before me.  During our Annual Summer Meeting, we honored Phil Ayers, Kristie Gholson, and Wes Pitts as inaugural MSHP fellows.  These pharmacy leaders have positively impacted our organization and profession at both a state and national level.  Through the guidance of our accomplished members, we can lead this organization into the future.

So, I challenge our members to become more engaged by renewing memberships, recruiting friends and colleagues into our organization, and joining one of our many councils.  Additionally, in order to advance our profession, I urge every member to donate to our PAC.  Again, I thank all our members for all they do, and I look forward to an incredible year!


Anees Kanorwala PharmD, BCPS, CDE
President, Mississippi Society of Health System Pharmacists
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Mississippi Baptist Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Bruce Parks Memorial Student Award

At the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy Awards Day in April, Jonathan Newbaker was announced as the recipient of MSHP's Bruce Parks Memorial Student Award.  This honor is awarded annually to a pharmacy student who demonstrates a desire to pursue a career in health-system pharmacy practice.  The candidate also demonstrates a great sense of professional maturity as evidenced by participation in activities in student chapters of professional organizations and school-wide activities, is in good academic standing, and has a desire to improve the practice of pharmacy and its image.

Congratulations, Jonathan!

ASHP Affiliate Presidential Officer Retreat

Anees Kanorwala, MSHP President, attended the ASHP Affiliate Presidential Officer Retreat in Dallas, TX, on November 2-3, 2019.  This was an opportunity for state and chapter leaders to collaborate and exchange ideas pertinent to health-system pharmacy.



Fellows of MSHP

Awarding Fellowship in MSHP is one means by which the Society fosters and rewards demonstrated excellence in health-system pharmacy for practitioners.  Successful candidates for fellow status have made a sustained contribution to MSHP and will have demonstrated a high level of excellence in pharmacy practice.

The inaugural MSHP Pharmacist Practitioner Recognition Program recipients are:

Phil Ayers

Kristie Gholson

Wes Pitts

Interested in becoming a Fellow of MSHP?

Click here for more information and an application.

Awarding Fellowship in the Mississippi Society of Health-System Pharmacists is one means by which the Society fosters and rewards demonstrated excellence in health- system pharmacy for practitioners in both acute and ambulatory care settings.  Successful candidates for fellow status will have made a sustained contribution to MSHP and will have demonstrated a high level of excellence in pharmacy practice.


In December 2019, MSHP president Anees Kanorwala  attended the ASHP State Affiliate Presidents' Dinner during the Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas, NV.  At this retreat, they had the opportunity to meet with chapter presidential officers from state affiliates from around the country.  They discussed new and enhanced ways to provide representation and service to our MSHP members, including advocacy and outreach, as well as many other issues affecting pharmacy today.  Anees brought back lots of great ideas!